Sonoma County Wineries to Visit in a Day

We are frequently asked which wineries to visit if we only had one day.  It’s a really tough question to answer given the number of stellar wineries in Sonoma County and the size of the region.  Here are 10 suggestions for visiting 3 to 5 wineries in one day, in no certain order.  All are geographically close to minimize driving times.

Itinerary #1

Benovia Winery - benoviawinery.com, Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and Zinfandel  

Dehlinger Winery - dehlingerwinery.com, Pinot Noir, Chardonnay, Syrah and Cabernet Sauvignon  

Pellegrini Winery - pellegrinisonoma.com, Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and Zinfandel  

Dutton-Goldfield Winery - duttongoldfield.com, Pinot Noir, Chardonnay, Riesling and Zinfandel  

Itinerary #2

Carol Shelton Wines - carolshelton.com, Zinfandel, Petite Sirah, Carignane, Cabernet Sauvignon

Sheldon Wines, sheldonwines.com, Syrah, Grenache, and Graciano

Woodenhead Wines - woodenheadwine.com, Pinot Noir, Chardonnay, French Colombard and Zinfandel  

Tara Bella Winery - tarabellawinery.com, Cabernet Sauvignon

Hook & Ladder Vineyards - hookandladderwinery.com, Chardonnay, Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon, Zinfandel

Itinerary #3

Square Peg Winery - squarepegwinery.com, Pinot Noir and Zinfandel

Claypool Cellars - claypoolcellars.com, Pinot Noir and Champagne

Marimar Estate - marimarestate.com,  Pinot Noir, Albariño and Chardonnay

Itinerary #4

Porter Creek Vineyards - portercreekvineyards.com, Chardonnay, Voignier, Pinot Noir, Carignane, Syrah and Zinfandel

Bacigalupi - bacigalupivineyards.com, Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, Zinfandel and Petite Sirah  

MacRostie Winery - macrostiewinery.com, Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Cabernet Sauvignon

Mill Creek Winery - millcreekwinery.com, Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Zinfandel, Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon

Itinerary #5

Acorn Winery - acornwinery.com, Cabernet Franc, Dolcetto, Sangiovese, Zinfandel and Syrah

Limerick Lane Wines - limericklanewines.com, Syrah and Zinfandel

Merriam Vineyards - merriamvineyards.com, Sauvignon Blanc,  FUME Blanc, Pinot Noir, Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Petite Verdot

Christopher Creek - christophercreek.com, Sotoyome, Viognier, Cabernet Sauvignon, 

Syrah, Petite Sirah and Pinot Noir  

Itinerary #6

Zialena Winery - zialena.com/index.cfm  Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon and Zinfandel

Ramazzotti Wines - ramazzottiwines.com Pinot Grigio, Sauvignon Blanc, Barbera, Sangiovese, Cabernet Franc and Super Tuscan Blends

Pech Merle - pechmerlewinery.com Sauvignon Blanc, Viognier, Pinot Noir, Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon and Zinfandel

Silver Oak - silveroak.com/visit-us/alexander-valley/ Cabernet Sauvignon  Go for the Wine and Food Pairing Experience 

Itinerary #7

Pedroncelli - pedroncelli.com Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, Merlot, Sangiovese, Zinfandel, Sauvignon Blanc, Petite Sirah and Port

Talty Vineyards - taltyvineyards.com It’s all about Zinfandel

Zichichi Family Vineyard - zichichifamilyvineyard.com Barrel taste Zinfandel and Petite Sirah. Cabernet Sauvignon

Cast Wines - castwines.com Blanc de Blanc, Blanc de Noirs, Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Noir, Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Zinfandel and Petite Sirah

Reeve Wines - reevewines.com Riesling, Sangiovese and Pinot Noir

Itinerary #8

Lioco Wine - liocowine.com Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, Carignan and Pinot Noir

Davis Family Vineyards - davisfamilyvineyards.com Viognier, Pinot Noir, Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah, GSM Grenache-Syrah-Mourvedre and Zinfandel

Longboard Vineyards - longboardvineyards.com Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, Merlot, Malbec, Cabernet Sauvignon and Syrah

Holdredge - holdredge.com Pinot Noir

Gustafson Family Vineyard - gfvineyard.com Riesling, Sauvignon Blanc, Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon, Petite Sirah, Syrah and Zinfandel 

Itinerary #9

B. Wise Vineyards - bwisevineyards.com Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc Syrah and Zinfandel

Spann Vineyards - spannvineyards.com Chardonnay, Chardonnay-Viognier blend, Viognier-Marsanne blend, Cabernet Sauvignon, Malbec, Petit Verdot, Primitivo and Zinfandel

Ty Catontycaton.com Sauvignon Blanc, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Syrah, Petite Sirah and Petit Verdot

Loxton Wines - loxtonwines.com Viognier-Chardonnay blend, Syrah, Zinfandel, Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Shiraz Cuvée and Port 

Itinerary #10

Passaggio Wines - passaggiowines.com Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Chenin Blanc, Pinot Grigio, Roussanne, Mourvèdre, Merlot and Syrah

Fulcrum Wines - fulcrumwines.com Chardonnay, Gewurtzraminer, Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir

Pangloss Cellars - panglosscellars.com Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, Cabernet Sauvignon, Pinot Noir and Zinfandel 

Three Sticks Wines - threestickswines.com Pinot Blanc, Chardonnay and Pinot Noir

Buena Vista Winery - buenavistawinery.com The first and oldest California winery.  Albarino, French Colombard, Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Cabernet Sauvignon 


Life Opens Up in Sonoma County

Sonoma County is a truly unique place.  When you are here, life opens up to the special connection we have with the land, sea and air.  September and October are especially vibrant times to visit.  The grapes and apples are being harvested, wineries are making wine, the temperatures are lovely and there to an abundance of amazing fresh fruits and vegetables served up by some of the country's best chefs like Brian Anderson, Daniel Kedan, Duskie EstesDustin Valette and Mark Stark

Sonoma County offers a plethora of fun activities including bicycling, hiking, horseback riding, zip-lining through the redwoods, ballooning, floating the Russian River, The Charles Schulz “Snoopy” museum or just taking a leisurely drive to the ocean.  Looking for a full spa experience check out the Osmosis Spa in Freestone and their featured Cedar Bath. 

The Gables Wine Country Inn is located in the heart of Sonoma County, just south of Santa Rosa.  We offer our guests exceptional concierge services along with an amazing 3-course breakfast, a welcome glass of wine upon arrival and a Wine Passport that provides complementary tastings for two to over 100 Sonoma County wineries.  We offer in room messages for singles and couples.  For groups of 6 or more, we offer a unique wine pairing dinner featuring any number of our favorite local wineries.  (This takes preparation, so a few weeks notice is required.)  We have 3+ acres with a new vineyard, one of the oldest standing barns in Sonoma County, Circa 1850s.  This is great place to relax and get away from the city. 

Our Harvest Season special is a 375ml bottle of chardonnay from Flanagan Winery and a complementary tasting for two at the winery in the beautiful Dry Creek AVA.   

#lifeopensup #sonomacounty #sonomachat #wine #foodandwine #foodiechats #thegablesinn

Recipe Feature - Cloud Soufflé

Our guests always "ooh" and "ahh" when we bring out this light and fluffy soufflé, so today we are sharing the recipe with you in our first recipe feature! Keep checking back, there will be more!

 

Ingredients:

 

Butter or Pam for lining the ramekin

 

4 eggs, room temperature and separated

 

Sea salt or coarse salt

 

2 Tablespoon cream

 

1 Tablespoon butter, melted

 

6 Tablespoons grated cheddar cheese

 

4 - 5 cherry tomatoes, chopped

 

1/4 shallot, chopped

 

Fresh ground black pepper

 

Instructions:

 

Preheat your oven to 400-degrees Fahrenheit. Lightly butter two 6-inch ramekin.

 

Using your electric mixer, beat the egg whites until they just start to become stiff. Add salt and continue beating the egg whites until they form stiff peaks.

 

IMG_6051.JPG

Sauté the shallot and tomato until the shallot is translucent, about 3 minutes.

 

Spoon 3/4 of the egg whites into the ramekin reserving some for the top. With the back of a soup spoon, make a well in the middle of the egg whites, pushing the egg whites up the sides of the ramekin.  Add the shallot/tomato mixture then carefully slide the two egg yolks into the hole. Add a crush of freshly ground pepper then top with the cheddar cheese. Pour in the butter and cream. Smooth the remaining egg whites back over the top to form a dome. 

 

IMG_6053.JPG
IMG_6243.JPG

Bake approximately 12 minutes. The top should be lightly golden, and when you break the crust, the yolks and cream should be soft and hot.

 

Serve with some crusty bread to dip into the yolks and cream.

 

Feeds 2

 

For this recipe (and many more), you can purchase The Gables Wine Country Inn Cookbook here!